Chapter News

By Benjamin Franklin Tidwell III, President Palm Beach Chapter SAR

"Happy New Year! I am honored and humbled to be your Chapter President and grateful to be surrounded by a team of selfless Chapter Officers who together, and with your support, continue to honor our Patriot Ancestors.

This year promises to be another breakout year for our Chapter as we build our Chapter membership, promote the vision and sacrifice of our Founding Fathers, and honor the accomplishments of the leaders in our community through our Emergency Responder recognition initiatives and Youth programs!

As your new President, I am hopeful that we can continue our fellowship of like-minded individuals interested building our membership, honoring our community leaders, and supporting our country, its founding virtues and our patriot ancestors who risk all for a new vision of a country of the people, by the people and for the people."


Chapter Photos

  • New Compatriot Induction - Don Lanman Chapter Vice President, Chase Davis, Keith Davis, Warren Davis, Chris Fluder, John Heitman, Bob Boggs, Gary Green Chapter President
  • Compatriots Swear Oath to SAR
  • 3 Generations of Davis Inducted Together - Chase, Keith, Warren Davis
  • SAR Gold Medal Recipient Alex Dreyfoss addresses Chapter on Philanthropy
  • State SVP Ray Wess presents SAR Flag Streamer to VP Don Lanman
  • Chapter VP Lanman presents appreciation certificate to Navy Seals Kaiser & Corona
  • VP Lanman presents Vietnam Brigade Certificate to Compatriot Chasteen & wife
  • New members -Shane McWhorter, James McAllister, Brian Kirk, Paul Chasteen, Don Lanman and President Ray Wess
  • Chapter Rumbaugh Historical Oration winner, Talia Fradkin, President Ray Wess
  • SAR War Service presentation, Paul Chasteen and President Gary Green
  • Newly Elected 2015 Chapter Officers - Gary Green (President), Don Lanman (Vice President), Brian Davey (Secretary), Buddy Miller (Historian), Peter Johnston (Treasurer), Father Sanford Sears (Chaplain), David Coldwell (Member-at-Large), Not Pictured - Ben Tidwell (Sgt.-at-Arms), Ray Wess (Registrar and Newsletter Editor)
  • Palm Beach Chapter Veterans recognized for Veterans Day
  • Service Medal Presentation to Don Lanman, Byrd Wenman, Father Sanford Sears by President Ray Wess
  • Distinguished Service Medal Presented to Peter Johnston by President Ray Wess
  • New Chapter Members - Charles Wade, Brian Davey, Byrd Wenman, Zack Pike, Father Sanford Sears
  • Law Enforcement Commendation Awards - D/S Ryan Longchamp, D/S John Cardascia, D/S Lillian Sutterfield, D/S Malora Duplantis D/S Troy Snelgrove, Det. Sgt. Nicholas Caristo
  • Law Enforcement Commendation Awards - Chief Deputy Mike Gauger, Admin Assistant Shannon McWilliams, President Ray Wess
  • SAR Military Service Medal Presentations - Compatriot Tom Graver, President Ray Wess, Compatriot David Coldwell
  • SAR New Member Induction Ceremony - Compatriot Tom Graver, Compatriot Marvin Graham, President Ray Wess
  • Fire Safety Commendation Awards - Chief Bruce Young, Paramedic Mike Wolters, Firefighter Andrew Moreira, Capt. Aaron Pribyl, Chief Brian Fuller, Lt. Mark Bradshaw, Chief Jose Gonzalez
  • Chapter Meeting Mar. 18, 2013 - Ray Wess, Dr. Louis Watson, Chris Noel (Military Service Presentation)
  • Chapter Meeting Mar. 18, 2013 - Members of the Chapter who are veterans presenting Chris Noel the SAR Good Citizenship Medal
  • Chapter Meeting Feb. 18, 2014 - New Member Induction, Robert Rewey, Scot Menke Jr., Scot Menke Sr., Philip Johnston, Tom Dickmann, Alec Dickmann, Robert Beck
  • Chapter Meeting Feb. 18, 2014 - Military Service Medal, Edward Payne III & President Ray Wess
  • Chapter Meeting Feb. 18, 2014 - Vietnam Veterans Battalion, Steve Brook & President Ray Wess
  • Chapter Meeting Feb. 18, 2014 - Outstanding Eagle Scout, President Ray Wess, Scot Menke Sr., Scot Menke Jr., Carol Menke, Scoutmaster Ed Pritchett
  • Chapter Meeting Feb. 18, 2014 - Guest Speaker, Donna Gruber Adair
  • Gala Anniversary Luncheon at Palm Beach Everglades Club, Dec. 14, 2013
  • President Ray Wess making presentations to event sponsors, Robert Rewey and Suzanne Rewey, Dec. 14, 2013
  • Chapter meeting Oct, 15, 2013 New Members: Dr. Louis Watson, Edward O’Hara Esquire, Stephen Brook, Terry Friend and Chapter President Ray Wess
  • Chapter meeting Oct. 15, 2013, WWII War Medal recipient; Compatriot F. Russell Greenspan and Chapter President Ray Wess
  • Past President Distinguished Service Awards - Greg Parkinson, Ed Buckley, Elwyn Moore, Gerri Meeks, Dan Shepherd, Buddy Miller, Jim Blackburn
  • Chapter Meeting Apr. 16, 2013: Buddy Miller, Recipient Peter Bowen, Professor Wes Borucki – Palm Beach Atlantic American History Scholarship Winner
  • Chapter Meeting Mar. 19, 2013: Col. Hans Hunt, Cadet 1LT James Bukowski - the winner, President Ray Wess. JROTC Outstanding Cadet for the school year 2012-2013
  • Chapter Meeting Feb. 19, 2013: Mrs. Rechka, President Ray Wess, Nadir Rechka - Chapter Knight Essay Winner